The Givers’ Idiosyncrasies

Being a giver myself, I really like the generosity that is depicted in this video clip. Usually, when somebody approaches you for money and begs before you, you will have all the reasons to not part with your money, maybe out of the apprehensions that it might be utilized in buying a bottle of beer, or a pack of cigarette or for drugs or because the person is homeless or maybe for reasons unknown.

While there’d been couple instances where I had my own doubts while giving money to someone, I felt a feeling of liberation when I gave it away (despite my unresolved doubts.)

Recollecting some of the moments of the past, I remember giving to a deaf man in his 20s who came walking to my institute, looking for help. Now his proofs looked a bit tampered with, and so I gave him as less as 100 rupees. But I was the only one that gave. Besides this, I believed that if he really is deaf, I tried communicating with him by writing lines on piece of paper. The boy could reply and gave me a number and an address, however I never got to see his face again.

Little kids of the labor class are usually seen roaming around my education institute and every time they would see somebody walk out of the canteen, they would ask for a ‘toffee’ or ‘something.’ I’d literally seen people buy food stuff for them, which was pretty nice of them. I had done that too and for the very little that one gets to give away, the bright and big smiles on these kid’s faces is truly uplifting.

I usually give away to someone who either doesn’t come and beg or to someone who definitely looks like they could use a little kindness. Sometimes, when kids flood me saying they are hungry, I’d buy them food and a while later, I get to see that food was not what they wanted. They’d throw it away. But they’d like if someone gives them money, maybe because their parents train them that way.

Back in June, I was walking out of the New Delhi Metro Station where a family of 7 people sat there with their luggage, in tattered clothes. The man who approached me said that a contractor had brought them from their village to the city, promising them a job but since then, he had not been heard from. I was told that they don’t even the means to manage the rail ticket or buy food, or a mobile phone to communicate with someone from their village. I was a little perplexed given the scenario. Just because there was a little girl and an old man with them, I made myself believe in the man’s story. I gave 150 rupees and I decided that’d be all that I will give. Meanwhile, a man came asking about what the matter was and after considerable thought (as it seemed), he opened his wallet and gave 500 rupees instantly. The family again persuaded me if I could some more, and as such I didn’t have a change of 500 rupees, so I went inside the metro station again and having a shadow of suspicion on what was being told to me, I narrated the entire matter to the police officials who were inside. Nobody did a thing, they didn’t even come and check outside.

I ended up giving 400 rupees (100 I saved for traveling home). This haunted me for awhile, but as my friend told me, it would have haunted you more if you hadn’t given the money. So I made peace.

But, giving comprises of many things, whether it is giving up your seat for someone else in the bus, or vacating the table in a cafe because an old person needs it more than you do, or moving back in queue in the post office, as someone is in a dire need to get something processed than you do.  It’s the tiny efforts that makes big differences.

Clearly, we givers just love giving to others? And that isn’t something we would want to get rid of. (Or maybe, we would) Giving gives us purpose, makes us feel valuable— it is a form of creative and intuitive expression. So, we let the giving flow. It feels so much better than receiving.

Leave a Reply

