Today I heard a bird sing

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
Its voice carried notes
Of both struggle and strain
It sang its best 
As it Woke Again

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
Hungry mouths in the nest
All opened wide
Every daylight hour spent working
How that bird must be tired

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
No vacations or weekend retreat
Each day a struggle, just to eat
But it sang anyway, through the twists and turns
It sang its best, thankful for worms.

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
It had nothing in the bank
Nothing stored for a rainy day
And to the cat and the hawk, it was prey
But it sang, it sang anyway.

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
It’s flimsy house leaked and creaked 
But had a great view
It had no roof
And the wind blew right through.
So it sang
Thankful for feathers 
Thankful for good weather

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
Soon another answered, singing two
A rule of nature
Singers draw mates
And love songs flew

TODAY I HEARD A BIRD SING
So I began my own tune
I sang my best
Happy and full
Though there was still room
For more in my nest

Tomorrow mouths will be hungry 
The work will be there
But thank God I’ve got wings
To take to the air

A nest I do have
It sometimes leaks too
But the great thing about life
Its got a great view

And I joined with my voice
To sing or not
That is the real choice

The choice is not work
To gather in food
That must be done
To feed a hungry brood.

The choice is more subtle
More sublime than that
Than whether to simply 
Hang up your hat

For the birds of the air
Have nothing on you
You’ve got more to drink
Than the morning dew

So life up your voice
Go ahead, make that choice
And let go a tune
Daybreaks a ‘coming
Start singing soon.

For the picture, see here: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3908034558811&l=66ca5b7f9d

Leave a Reply

