Takeaway Truths from the Shawshank Redemption

Sorry, I know I’m late (20 years, though)! But everything happens, all in right time. So without feeling stupid anymore, I hereby declare that I watched ‘The Shawshank Redemption (1994)’ TODAY. Well, I watched it for two days straight ? Know how ? Because I began watching the at 10:15 P.M.on 17th March, 2014 and it went on up till 12:37 A.M. on 18th March, 2014. :p

Enough with the lameness, oh yeah!

But trust me when I said, all in right time. Couple of years ago, I’d hear my friends talk about how good the movie is. It sure, is! I know now that they were true. Having watched it, back in those years, I wonder if there was ever a learning that my friends took from the movie? I wouldn’t be able to, of that I’m sure!

For those of us, who have forgotten and who may forget, this blog post shall remain as a reminder. Just pass it on!
You know, I’m no critic nor I have the art of praising things like it’s some work of God. But I just wanna write..so that it serves as a memory for ‘my bad memory.’

So in here, a man got charged for murdering his beloved wife and her lover. Isn’t everyone who ends up being tried up in court says he is innocent? The law says, “A man is innocent until he is proven guilty.”
Andy was, innocent, we all know. But due to the doing of other, he ended up where he never wasn’t meant to be.
In the later half of the movie, Andy says, “I didn’t pull that trigger…but I murdered her…I drove her away.” The takeaway truth, here is, just because a man looks encrypted or because he’s hard to read or because he doesn’t express his love, doesn’t mean he loves you. Love is a fragile thing, and we’re not always it’s best caretakers. We just muddle through, hoping that this fragile thing survives forever.
But, love can die in mysterious ways, gradually. Don’t let that happen to you! In your passions, be young! But in your relationships, be wise.

Looks like he made up for everything when he got to the prison. I can’t, in all earnest thoughts, say that all prisoners deserve the life that the prison offers. Who do we blame for ? The man commits a crime, so he is there. The court tried and convicted him, NO, they were law abiding men. So they were doing their job. The ever so rude prison officials? No! They can’t be sweet to prisoners, of course. That’s not what they’ll be paid for.

Prisons will be the last place on Earth to expect any damn kindness. If by only watching the movie, we feel horrible. I wonder, what it’s really like, on the inside, behind all those dark prison blocks, caged for (you don’t know how many God awful years?)

Then, of course, we learn about the menace of butt-rape. If there’s anything you’ve to watch out for, MAN, I tell ya, watch out for your a**! Not only do women face the wrath of onrushing stripping of their dignity, lot of men do too. Sometimes, you can fight the good fight. Sometimes, you cannot. Please read David Pittman’s account on Prison Rape : http://www.stormfront.org/truth_at_last/raje/memories.html

They ask you, if you feel rehabilitated enough, I don’t think it can even happen. You eat when they ask you to eat…. You shit when they ask you to shit… You piss when they ask you to piss… Walking around the angry headed men all the time… That’s so pathetically harsh!

As Mr. Red says the word is bullshit. I think it’s true. You watch your whole life passing you by, years of your life getting wasted, with no way to undo them. It just takes only ever so much courage to make it to the life on the outside. I don’t even know how many people actually make it that far ? Even if you are a changed man, you can’t go back to your younger self and explain them the thing they’re doing is a dumb thing to do. Sad what happened to the old man, Brooks Hatlen. I liked the old – timer! Yes, the world is in a big damn hurry. Imagine yourself coming out of the prison and finding your family gone. Who does like to wait up? Brooks’ death, sort of, overwhelmed me. Get busy living or get busy dying!

Prisons appear to be full of dark, dirty secret. Because prison is no good fairy tale world and it’s only there to get the best of a man.

If only every man with mens rea could see this movie, I think they’d like to live a life like that. Too idealistic, right?

The next part I loved was everything that’s got to do with the verses of the Bible and how Norton met his end. True, the salvation lies within and that HIS judgement shall come just in time. Just because you sound like you’re a God’s man doesn’t make you one.

To revamp things a little, I think they should tell some music get to the ears of the prisoners. Life’s a melancholy with no music in it.

Hope works differently for different people. It may be a dangerous thing or it may drive a man insane. Or you can just believe that as long as you still hope, you’re still alive.
That it’s certainly a good thing…Maybe, the best of things and that, no good thing ever dies.

No matter where this life gets you, you can still crawl through shit and come out clean on the other side. You just gotta try!

And you gotta love this part… “Some birds aren’t meant to be caged, their feathers are just too bright. And when they fly, the part of you that knows it was a sin to lock them up, does rejoice. But still, the place you live in is that much more drab and empty that they’re gone.”

It was so refreshing to see Red and Andy meet in the end. All in good time! <3

Leave a Reply

